News and Press Releases

May 13, 2022

First National reelects board of directors

ANCHORAGE – First National reelected all ten of its directors to their Board positions during the bank’s annual shareholder meeting on April 26, 2022. The current board is comprised of Board Chair and CEO/President Betsy Lawer, Vice Chair Lucy Mahan, Adm. Tom Barrett, USCG (ret.), Lead Director Perry Eaton, Margy Johnson, Jane Klopfer, Doug Longacre, Tara Sweeney, Tom Tougas and Janet Weiss.

“A central tenet of First National’s mission statement is supporting employees, customers and communities,” said Lawer. “A large part of our success in that endeavor is thanks to the guidance of the local and experienced leadership on the bank’s Board of Directors. I am proud to serve on the board with Alaskans who are invested in our state’s success.”

Alaska’s community bank since 1922, First National proudly meets the financial needs of Alaskans with ATMs and 28 locations in 19 communities throughout the state, and by providing banking services to meet their needs across the nation and around the world. In 2021, Alaska Business readers voted the bank the “Best of Alaska Business” in the Best Place to Work category for the sixth year in a row, Best Corporate Citizen for a third year, and Best Bank/Credit Union. The same year, American Banker recognized First National as a “Best Bank to Work For” for the fourth year in a row, and Anchorage Daily News readers voted the bank one of the state’s top three financial institutions for the third year in a row in the ADN “Best of Alaska” Awards.


Contact: Marketing Department, (907) 777-3409