News and Press Releases

Feb 07, 2007

Lawer named to Alaska Business Hall of Fame

In January an inspirational program for young Alaskans recognized the best business leaders in the state. First National Vice Chair and Chief Operating Officer Betsy Lawer was inducted into the 2007 Alaska Business Hall of Fame at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel on January 26. Lawer is the fourth First National Bank Alaska leader to be honored with the award. Bank President Dan Cuddy was named Laureate in 1993, Director John Kelsey was named in 1991 and Director Loren Lounsbury was named in 2002.

The Hall of Fame is one of the states most prestigious business and civic events and inducts new Laureates on an annual basis. Laureates are selected based on their unique and lasting impact on the Alaskan economy as well as their efforts to promote the growth of Alaskan business throughout their careers. Junior Achievement of Alaska, Inc. began recognizing outstanding business leaders with the honor in 1987.

Junior Achievements purpose is to inspire and prepare young people to succeed in a global economy, said Lawer. The programs teach important skills to young Alaskans, who are our future and why First National is proud to support Junior Achievement programs. I am truly honored to receive this recognition.

Lawer was one of six longtime Alaskans to be named to the Alaska Business Hall of Fame at this years event. Also named were Ron Cosgrave, Ron Duncan, Bruce Kennedy, Clarence Kramer and Helvi Sandvik. Lawer, like other First National leaders to be named to the Hall of Fame, received the award for her business leadership skills and dedication to the community.

The first bank leader selected as Laureate was John Kelsey in 1991. Kelsey returned to Alaska after spending four years in the Navy during WWII to help manage the family business, the Valdez Dock Company. Kelsey played a key role rebuilding Valdez after the 1964 earthquake and in making Valdez the terminus for the trans-Alaska oil pipeline. Bank President Dan Cuddy was selected as Laureate in 1993. Cuddy succeeded his father as bank president in 1951 and most business leaders believed he was among the youngest bank presidents in the country. Loren Lounsbury was named to the Hall of Fame in 2002. Lounsbury moved to Alaska when he was just 10 years old. After graduating from Oregon State University with a degree in Civil Engineering, Lounsbury returned to Alaska and opened his own engineering and survey firm. In 1978, Lounsbury surveyed for development at Prudhoe Bay oil field and helped expand to Kuparkuk. In 2004, Lounsbury designed and implemented the Dowling Road and Seward Highway roundabout in Anchorage.

Established in 1922, First National is Alaskas largest Alaskan-owned and operated bank, with ATMs and 29 branches in 17 communities throughout Alaska.


Contact: Marketing Department, (907) 777-3409